Results of the jury
Results of the public

PIXXELPOINT Festival Jury Report
Nova Gorica, November 24, 2002


The general conclusion of the jury is that works presented at the festival achieve the quality level seen at kin festivals around the world. The festival itself has been well organized. As it stands, Pixxelpoint is a meaningful forum for artists covering a wide range of computer arts, and plays an important role in disseminating the art form. The technological development of means of communication indicates a growing importance of images and sounds in communication. This calls for greater fine-arts sensibility and visual literacy, as well as better understanding of computer technologies. It is therefore crucial to continue promoting quality and nurturing the culture of computer arts. In the future, greater emphasis should be placed on the educational dimension of the festival as a mechanism co-generating the social reality.

Aleš Sedmak

Milan Erič
Danijel Lovas
Zdravko Papič
Aleš Verbič
Oliver Vodeb


The commission applied four basic sets of criteria in evaluating works presented at the Pixxelpoint festival:
1. Effect and breakthrough of the expressed idea
2. Fine arts and artistic sensibility
3. Optimal use of technologies in achieving new art values
4. Mastering the computer as a medium of expression

The result of the criteria applied is an artwork as a wholesome visualization of a concept.

The works were divided into seven categories: 2D static image, which has two subcategories, Illustration and Art; 2D generative image; 3D static image with subcategories Illustration and Art; vector image; animated film; and interactive image or music.




    The award in the category 2D illustration goes to Branka Schwarz (Slovenia) for her work Location of Smile. This work is a lyrical interpretation of a classical motive, combined with an interesting compositional arrangement of details and reasonable use of the artistic language and the computer media, which, in interaction with the title, rounds off the underlying notion in an efficient and sally manner.

  • ART

    The award in the category 2D Art goes to Vic Barretto (Australia) for Road Patrol. In a witty and picturesque way, the author creates a special surreal atmosphere, defined by a great deal of distinctness, a feel for the medium and an interesting use of computer tools.

    The jury decided to hand out two special recognition awards in this category, namely to Mirjana Popović and Leonard Rubins.

    In Digital Winter, Mirjana Popović (Yugoslavia) has managed to present her vision in a subtle and refined way. Her work achieves a perfected graphic expression.

    Rubins Leonard (Slovenia) has been awarded a special recognition award for his socially critical subject matter. Using the technology of simulation, the author visualizes simulation itself. The application of the classical collage technique makes his interpretation appear provocative, as his choice of aesthetics questions and makes into irony the absurdity of the simulation as a self-referencing sign system of the post-modern age.


    The jury reached the unanimous decision to award Bogdan Soban (Slovenia) for a unique and complex approach to generating computer imagery with conceptually extremely thought-out application of computer technology, and for the author’s ecological contribution to the media environment. Soban’s innovative approach is a build-up to the affirmed (expression) level of computer graphics.



    The award in this category goes to Dan Harms from the U.S. and his Jib. The work is distinguished by original motives expressed through a dynamic composition and lucid visualization.

  • ART

    In the category 3D ART, the award goes to Terry Calen (U.S.) and his project 2002-04. The purified art of the subtle texture, the minimalism of motive and the dexterous use of the computer media for the achievement of classical fine-arts effects are the merits that convinced the jury to confer this award unanimously.


    The award in the category vector image goes to Mauro Ceolin (Italy) for Promotional Landscapes - Sony. With the bare minimum of means of expression, the author has managed to create a useful and purified image of an architectural cityscape.


    The jury decided to hand out two awards in this category.

    The first prize goes to Paul Ritt (Netherlands) for Heaven Knows. Paul Ritt has surprised with the expressively powerful authorial concept, a clear dramaturgy and a consistently accomplished, technically demanding abstract animation, as well as an extraordinary feel for the concordance of image, sound and movement. It is the jury’s opinion that his is the best work presented at the festival.

    For the second prize in this category, the jury selected the work of Anton Tyroller (Germany) entitled Die Brücke (Bridges). His animated film is a content-wise ingenious creation with a consistent visualisation of the idea and a vibrant narration.


    The complexity of expression, the formidability of execution and the aesthetic purity of the work have convinced the jury to award in this category David Clark (Canada) and his A is for Apple. The work far exceeds the level of other works presented in the group.


    Compositional congruity and idea, counter point and the innovative use of the computer-sound capabilities are criteria that the jury has set in assessing works in this category.

    The jury decided to award the first prize to Veacheslav Smelovsky (Israel) and his work Sick Doll / Doll Burial. The award has been conferred for the sensible wholeness of the work. Throughout the piece, the author has managed to create a specific atmosphere and arouse interest. He is a master of complex rhythmics. He selects the sound thoughtfully and layers them into an imaginary music space. Combined as a whole, these qualities indicate a specific personal style and creative approach. What he achieves is a quality necessary to call sounds and rhythms “music”.

    PIXXELPOINT Festival Results of the Public

    Best 2D - Janez Zalaznik - Rdeči Kimono (Slovenia)
    2nd Best 2D - Marco Vernaglione - Twilight Zone (Italy)

    Best 3d - Uroš Hohkravt - Harvey's Room (Slovenija) 2nd Best 3d - Dan Harms - Jib (ZDA)

    Vector Art - Mauro Ceolin - Promotional Landscapes - Sony (Italija)

    Best Animation - Filip Markovinović - Fleka (Jugoslavija) 2nd Best Animation - Die Brücke - Anton Tyroller (Nemčija)

    Interactive Art - David Clark - A is for Apple (Kanada)

    Music - Ateet Tuli - Birds (ZDA)